Pigeon broth

Magyarul  

Pigeon broth

The last time I ate pigeon broth was about 6 years ago, when my grandpa made it.  I really like its unique flavour but till now I had no chance to do it by myself.

I never dared to undertake such a thing like this, but this time it seemed to be easier and faster to order wild pigeon meat on the internet, then wait for the miracle. The carrier arrived on my chosen delivery day with the beautiful birds in polystyrene box. I removed few tiny feathers, then they went into the freezer.

I took them out on the 23rd, let them melt completely, then on Christmas Eve I put two whole pigeons in cold, salted water together with a handful of chicken gizzards then turned the stove on. During boiling I removed the grey foam from the top by a small skimmer. When there was no more freshly generated foam, I added 3-5 peppercorns and set the stove to lower level, then continued the cooking with the lid on till the meat started to become a bit tender. It took about 2 hours without pressure cooker. Meanwhile, of course, I used my precious time to prepare other dishes and peel vegetables.

In the meantime my pigeons achieved the required soft texture, I checked it at the breast and thighs. I added the following vegetables: carrots, parsley roots and a bunch of fresh, flat leaf parsley, a small piece of parsnip, kohlrabi, celeriac, few brussels sprouts, a smaller, whole onion together with its skin (according to my mum the onion skin gives the broth a lovely golden colour, on the other hand it keeps the onion in one piece), and finally a few potatoes (according to my grandma they make the soup clear and transparent).

Since the meat was not rare anymore, -even if you are a bit choosy- you can feel free to taste the soup at this point to determine its salinity, and if it’s needed you can add more salt in small quantities. After the salt, it’s time to add other spices like nutmeg and a pinch of turmeric, and if you insist, some poultry or vegetable soup seasoning, then I put the lid back on. This was a new opportunity to do something else in the kitchen, so I cooked the pasta. In Hungary capelli d’angelo (‘angel hair pasta’) what is traditionally served with broth, so I chose it as well. When the pasta was ready I put it in the strainer, rinsed in cold water, then it went into a serving bowl where I stirred it with a few drops of oil, so for sure the thin pasta pieces didn’t stick together.

When the veggies were almost soft, I tasted the soup again and performed the final ‘fine-tuning’ with the spices and while I raised the temperature to medium I continued the cooking without lid till the vegetables and meat were both soft enough.

Once the soup was ready, I put the pigeons and gizzards in the middle of a platter then I arranged the variety of cooked vegetables around the meat, filtered the soup and placed on the festive table.

After lunch it’s recommended to put the remaining meat and vegetables back in the leftover soup, so they won’t become dry and remain tasty.

 

Do you like this recipe?
Follow the Holy Whisk Blog on Facebook, Instagram and Twitter
to be the first who read the latest blog posts.

• • •

 

Galambleves

Utoljára kb. 6 éve ettem galambhúsból készült levest, amit nagypapám főzött. Nagyon szeretem a különleges ízvilágàt, de ezidáig nem volt lehetőségem elkészíteni.

Még soha nem mertem ilyesmire vállalkozni, de most könnyebbnek és gyorsabbnak tűnt a vad galambhúst az interneten keresztül megrendelni, és várni a csodát. A futár az általam választott napon meg is érkezett egy hidegen tartó hungarocell dobozzal, amiben a két gyönyörű madárka utazott. Eltávolítottam róluk a maradék egy-két tollat, majd bekerültek a mélyhűtőbe.

Ezeket tehát már 23-án este kikaptam olvadni és a két egész galambot Szenteste napján hideg, sós vízben egy marék csirkezúza kíséretében feltettem főni. A forráskor keletkező szürkés habot kis szűrővel leszedtem a tetejéről. Amikor már nem habzott fel újra, hozzáadtam 3-5 szem egészborsot és alacsonyabb fokozaton, már fedő alatt főztem tovább, amíg a hús érezhetően kezdett megpuhulni. Ez kukta nélkül kb. 2 órába telt. Közben persze az értékes időmet más fogások előkészítésére illetve a zöldségek megpucolására használtam fel.

Ezidő alatt a galambok elérték a kellő puhaságot; amit a mellehúsnál és a comboknál ellenőriztem. Ekkor a főzőlébe belekerültek a leveszöldségek, név szerint: sárgarépa, petrezselyemgyökér és egy csokor friss petrezselyemzöld, kis darabka paszternák, karalábé, zellergumó, pár szem kelbimbó, egy fej vöröshagyma héjastól (anyukám szerint a hagymahéj szép aranysárga színt ad a levesnek, és másrészt a héj összetartja a zöldséget), és végül pár szem krumpli (ami nagymamám szerint, csodákat művel a zavaros levessel és áttetszővé teszi azt).

Mivel a hús ilyenkor már nem nyers, -még, ha válogatósabb is vagy- nyugodtan megkóstolhatod a főzőlevet, hogy megállapítsd a sósságát, és ésszerű léptékekben pótold a hiányzó mennyiséget. A sózás után itt az ideje hozzáadni a maradék fűszereket: szerecsendiót, egy csipetnyi kurkumát és, ha ragaszkodsz hozzá ételízesítőt, majd visszakerül a lábasra a fedő. Újabb alkalom adódott mással is foglalkozni, szóval megfőztem a levestésztát. Mivel Magyarországon hagyományosan ez kerül a húslevesbe, ezért az én választásom is a cérnametéltre esett. Az elkészült tésztát leszűrtem, hideg vízzel átöblítettem, majd egy tálba került, ahol pár csepp olajjal összekevertem, így biztosan nem ragad össze.

Amikor a zöldségek már szinte teljesen megpuhultak, újra megkóstoltam a levest, és elvégeztem az utolsó finomhangolást a fűszerekkel, majd fedő nélkül, közepesre emelve a hőmérsékletet a zöldségek és a hús teljes megpuhulásáig folytattam a főzést.

Amint elkészült a húsleves, először kiszedtem a galambokat és a zúzákat egy tál közepére, szépen köré rendeztem a különféle főtt zöldségeket, a levest leszűrtem majd az ünnepi asztalra tettem.

Étkezés után a maradék levesbe javasolt visszahelyezni a húst és a zöldségeket, amik ezáltal nem száradnak ki és ízletesek maradnak.

 

Tetszett a recept?
Kövesd a Holy Whisk Blog Facebook, Instagram valamint Twitter oldalát,
és értesülj Te elsőként a legújabb blog posztokról.

3 Comments Add yours

  1. chefkreso says:

    Pigeon broth? I haven’t tried pigeon before, I’m a little apprehensive, should I?

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Pigeon meat is very healthy, and at the same time it would be a new culinary adveture. But if you are not sure, feel free to try pigeon meat in a restaurant first, let’s see if you like it or not when a chef prepare it for you (probably without any mistakes)… then if you love the taste, you can buy or order some for your own dishes 😉

      Liked by 1 person

      1. chefkreso says:

        That is a great idea 😄 I would certainly like to try, I love to try new dishes!

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

