Venison stew

Magyarul  

Venison stew

On special occasions or just to spice up your everyday menu, feel free to choose a more noble, wild meat such as venison. The preparation of venison stew is very similar to the beef version, the only difference is the seasoning; but like any other wild meat, venison can provide a very unique taste-experience.

I normally make a quick, Hungarian-style stew base. I fried a finely chopped, large onion in 3-4 tbsp fat and stirred till it became a bit transparent, then I added a tbsp sweet paprika powder and about 50 ml water. During the reaction of water and hot fat the onion became soft. After that I added 1 tsp concentrated tomato paste, paprika paste, salt, pepper, 2 bay leaves, 1-2 juniper berries and I put 400 g diced venison into the pot and added more water, till it completely covered the meat.

I cooked the stew under lid, on the lowest level of the stove for about 1-1,5 hours (depends on the meat), and sometimes checked if I need to add more water because of evaporation. When the meat was soft enough I removed the lid and let the sauce to become more thick.

My favorite garnish for stews is egg barley. I always choose my bigest pot or frying pan to prepare it. I put 250 g egg barley into the pan, added 3-4 tbsp oil and started to fry it. When I saw different colored pieces is the pan I added 100 ml water. Be careful cause it’s so easy to burn yourself with hot steam. When the water disappeared, I stirred and added another 100 ml water then repeated this till the pasta became more soft than crunchy in the middle, then turned off the stove and put a lid on the pan for about 10 minutes. The egg barley pieces doubled in size during cooking.

Finally I plated the stew with the side. We Hungarians love to put some full fat –not light!crème fraîche, on my opinion this is one of the best alternative to our special sour cream, or you can use a Polish dairy, called śmietana on the top (in the UK you can find in most of the grocery stores)… but if you don’t like this idea, you can serve with pickled gerkhins as well.

 

Do you like this recipe?
Follow the Holy Whisk Blog on Facebook, Instagram and Twitter
to be the first who read the latest blog posts.
• • •

Szarvaspörkölt

Különlegesebb alkalmakkor, vagy a hétköznapi menüsor megszínezésére bátran válassz egy nemesebb vadhúst, például szarvashúst. A szarvaspörkölt elkészítése csak fűszerek tekintetében különbözik a marhahúsból készült verziótól, viszont a többi vadhúshoz hasonlóan egy nagyon különleges íz-élményt tud nyújtani.

Általában gyors, magyaros pörköltalapot készítek. Egy apróra vágott nagyobb hagymát 3-4 evőkanál zsíron üvegesre pirítottam, majd hozzáadtam egy evőkanál fűszerpaprikát és kb. 50ml vizet. A víz és a forró zsír találkozása során a hagyma puha és krémes állagú lesz. Ezután hozzáadtam egy kiskanál sűrített paradicsomot, paprikakrémet, sót, borsot, 2 babérlevelet, 1-2 borókabogyót és a lábasba került a 400 g felkockázott szarvashús annyi vízzel hogy ellepje.

Fedő alatt, takarék lángon (a hústól függően) 1-1,5 órán át főztem a pörköltet, és néha ellenőriztem, hogy mikor szükséges pótolni a párolgás során elvesztett vizet. Amikor a hús megpuhult, levettem a fedőt és sűrűre főztem a szaftot.

Pörköltekhez a kedvenc köretem a tarhonya. Az elkészítéséhez mindig a legnagyobb lábasomat vagy serpenyőmet választom. A serpenyőbe tettem 250 g tarhonyát és 3-4 kanál olajon elkezdtem pirítani. Amikor eltérő színűre pirult darabokat láttam a serpenyőben hozzáadtam 100 ml vizet. Légy óvatos, hiszen nagyon könnyen megégetheted magad a forró gőzzel. Amikor a víz elpárolgott, megkevertem és hozzáadtam újabb 100 ml-t, és ezt addig ismételtem amíg a tészta közepe már inkább puha volt mint roppanòs, majd kikapcsoltam a tűzhelyet és 10 percre lefedtem a serpenyőt. A tarhonya a főzés során duplájára dagadt.

Végül a pörköltet a körettel tálaltam. Mi magyarok szeretünk tejfölt tenni a tetejére, de tálalhatod savanyú uborkával is.

Tetszett a recept?
Kövesd a Holy Whisk Blog Facebook, Instagram valamint Twitter oldalát,
és értesülj Te elsőként a legújabb blog posztokról.

Leave a Reply

